DIY: Party Decor

Concierge Chelsey shares an in-expensive way to dress up your next party or photo booth with a DIY crepe paper backdrop!DIY Header

A friend of mine asked for my assistance in a local fundraiser last month—A Prom to Benefit City Dogs Rescue. CDR was using a brand new gym to host their event, but they wanted to make sure it was special for their big night, that’s where I came in.

After hours on Pinterest, I settled on trying to trying to recreate this festive crepe paper backdrop featured on 100 Layer Cake. I thought it would be perfect for the prom in a gym setting!

Supplies were cheap but man-hours can be long, so I wouldn’t suggest doing this the night before a baby shower or birthday party if you have a long list of other things to accomplish, but it can be done.

Enlist older kids to help with the cutting and you’re on your way to picture worthy-crepe paper fringe!

The original directions suggested using a wooden dowel & hot glue to hang the fringe, but since I needed to transport the backdrop from my apartment to the venue in a sedan, I didn’t think that would work.

I used standard rope & scrapbook tape (often called EZ Runner tape) and it worked great for me.

Supplies:

Crepe Paper

  • wedding2The easiest way to get fringe from crepe paper is to purchase sheets instead of rolls. I ordered from CrepePaperStore.com and they had a great selection of colors and shipped fast. You can also use the rolls and fold it on your own/keep it un-fringed.
  • The amount needed is totally based on the length, height & how filled in you want the backdrop to be. For my 15ft wide x 10 ft high backdrops, I used about 12 packages of the sheets plus 5 rolls of traditional crepe paper.
  • Do not use tissue paper, it is too delicate for this project.

Rope (or if you decide, a wooden dowel & fishing line)

Adhesive (I used a tape roll, often used for scrapbooking instead of hot glue)

Scissors

Metallic Fringe Curtain

  • This is totally optional, but I found that it gave a bit of fun in final product. You can tie individual pieces of the fringe into the backdrop (what I did) or line the entirety of the backdrop with the curtain to provide a bit more coverage—which creates a fuller look once hanging.

Steps:

  • wedding3I followed this great tutorial to create each piece of fringe, except that I tried to make each piece a bit different. Sometimes the fringe was narrow, other times it’s was quite wide. It’s completely up to you!
  • I cut my rope to 20 ft – 15ft for the backdrop plus a bit of slack on each side since I wasn’t certain how exactly I was going to hang the backdrop at the venue. If you use a wooden dowel, you may need to take into account how you’ll be hanging it when planning your supply list (e.g. fishing line or S-hooks).
  • wedding4After the rope was strung across my apartment, I went to town taping all of my fringe pieces. I did not unfold my fringe before taping, as I found it was easier to use the scrapbook tape on the entire piece (several sheets/folds) instead of just one sheet.
  • I originally started out placing each fringe about 3in apart from each other, so I could best judge where to place the different colors & textures of fringe as well as constantly being able to assess if more fringe needed to be made.  Some folks prefer to work with one color at a time, I just grabbed whatever was ready. Again, completely up to you and how you want the end result to turn out.
  • Using the scrapbooker’s tape, I put an inch or so of double-sided tape on each fringe end & then folded it over the rope.
  • The finished product looks best when fringe is overlapped, so don’t worry about putting individual pieces to close together or on top of each other. No one will be looking at the top of the backdrop!
  • Individual strands of metallic fringe were tied at no specific intervals once all of the paper was taped to the rope.
  • To transport the backdrop, I laid down a queen sized sheet on the floor and laid the backdrop on top and rolled it up like a cigar. If you use rope, just make sure to know where the ends are to make unrolling & hanging easier.  (I tied each end with a very different crepe paper so it was easy to identify).
  • When you get to the venue, unroll it from the sheet and hang. Once you have it hung you can unfold any fringe, and use your fingers to “comb” through any tangles.

wedding5 wedding6

End Result:

wedding7
Photo credit: City Dogs Rescue

This project cost about $20 plus 5 hours of my time for each backdrop, but I think it was well worth it!

Other notes:

  • Since our venue was going to be dark for the party, I strung rope lights behind the backdrop.
  • You will probably need more crepe paper than you anticipate needing. In the end, I stopped by the Dollar Store to pick up additional rolls of paper that remained non-fringed.
Post by: Chelsey K.
Leave a Reply

