Recipes from Around the World: Greece

I grew up just outside of Boston where a lot of the pizza and sandwich joints were run by Greek families.  The pizza was always delicious but I always went in for a gyro.  There was something about the warm pita bread and fresh tzatziki sauce that made me melt every time.  A few years back, I came up with a simple chicken gyro recipe that my friends are always asking me to make.

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb thin sliced chicken breast
  • Juice of 1 lemon
  • Panko Bread Crumbs
  • Olive Oil
  • Chopped Onion
  • Chopped Tomato
  • Pita Bread
  • Tzatziki Sauce (you can make your own but I love Cedar’s brand Tzatziki Sauce)

Directions:

  • Combine olive oil and lemon juice.
  • Soak chicken in olive oil and lemon juice mixture
  • Coat chicken in panko bread crumbs, make sure to cover them entirely
  • Heat olive oil in a skillet and cook chicken
  • Pat off excess oil from chicken and cut into 1-2 inch slices
  • Coat pita bread in a light layer of olive oil.
  • Heat up pita bread in the same skillet used for the chicken, 30-60 seconds on each side
  • Spoon on desired amount of tzatziki sauce, add chicken, onion and tomato.
  • Fold in half and enjoy!
