Save Time with Weekly Meal Prepping!

The idea of meal prepping can be overwhelming for some people. It took me a little while to get the hang of it, but it’s a much better alternative than having to resort to eating unhealthy meals just because they are quick and easy.

in-the-kitchen2

What’s in my cart?

Meal Prep 1One day a week, usually Sundays, I grocery shop and meal prep for the entire work week. A rule of thumb is to fill your cart with food from the perimeter of the grocery store. This means fresh produce and meats!

Your carbs should be complex and your proteins should be lean. I love quinoa and sweet potatoes so that’s where I get the most of my carbs from. Just be sure to watch portion sizes! I am rarely in the mood for fish, so I usually eat chicken or turkey breast and lean cuts of pork. Sometimes I’ll throw shrimp into the mix.

What to prep –

Once you’re done grocery shopping, it’s time to meal prep! I typically prep 2-3 different meals for the entire week. Prepping a different meal for each day is too time consuming and will be more costly.

This week’s meals are ground turkey breast with steamed broccoli, chicken breast with sweet potatoes, and quinoa with squash and zucchini. I also hard boil a dozen eggs and eat a few each day.

Meal Prep 2

Snacks are ok!

After work, I’m always hungry for a snack before I head to the gym or dance practice. One of my go to snacks before a workout is a whole grain English muffin with a packet of Justin’s Almond Butter. Plain almonds are also a great snack as they are high in protein and fiber!

Your turn –

When I first started prepping my meals, I immediately noticed how much extra time I had during the week since I didn’t have to worry about cooking a meal from scratch. Once it becomes a habit, you will wonder how you ever lived without it! I hope this helps you not only live a healthy lifestyle, but balance out your busy work week too.

Happy meal prepping!

Post by: Sarah C.
One thought on “Save Time with Weekly Meal Prepping!

Leave a Reply

